AACoRE > Projects > LingDy


LingDy International Symposium on Grammar Writing 2009

International Symposium on Grammar Writing:
Theoretical, Methodological, and Practical Issues

Goal of the symposium

This symposium brings together the leading scholars on descriptive linguistics to exchange insights on theoretical, methodological, and practical issues in the art of grammar writing. In particular it focuses on the following issues:

  • Role of theory in language description
  • Phonology in grammar writing
  • Categories and units in language description
  • Role of usage in language description
  • Role of grammatical sketches in language description
  • Appropriate data for language description
  • Organization and terminology in grammar writing
  • Writing a grammar for non-specialists

Through the discussion at the symposium, we will explore ways to assist and encourage production of insightful and readable grammars and to raise the profile of grammar writing both within linguistics and in language documentation.

Information of the symposium

  • Dates:December 8 to 10, 2009
  • Venue:Main Conference Room, Research Institute for Languages and Cultures of Asia and Africa (ILCAA), Tokyo University of Foreign Studies (TUFS)
  • Registration fee:Free  
  • Host:ILCAA Linguistic Dynamics Science Project (LingDy)
  • Co-organized by:ILCAA Joint Research Project ''Linguistic Diversity and Linguistic Theory: Morphological Typology and Syntactic Diversity'' (Tokyo University of Foreign Studies, Research Institute for Languages and Cultures of Asia and Africa, Project Leader: Toshihide Nakayama)




The symposium is open to public. Please pre-register for the symposium by sending the following information via e-mail to the LingDy Project Administrative Office (lingdy-office[atmark]aacore.net) by November 30.

  1. Your name in full
  2. Contact information (Affiliation, e-mail address)
  3. Whether you are interested in attending the reception on December 8 (reception fee is 1,000 yen)


  • Mark Donohue (Australian National University)
  • Nicholas Evans (Australian National University)
  • Carol Genetti (University of California, Santa Barbara)
  • Marianne Mithun (University of California, Santa Barbara)
  • Ulrike Mosel (Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel)
  • Thomas Payne (University of Oregon)
  • Andrew Pawley (Australian National University)
  • Kenneth L. Rehg (University of Hawai'i at Mānoa)
  • Keren Rice (University of Toronto)
  • Elena Indjieva (University of Hawai'i at Mānoa)
  • Hiroko Sato (University of Hawai'i at Mānoa)
  • Jake Terrell (University of Hawai'i at Mānoa)
  • Toshihide Nakayama (ILCAA, TUFS)
  • Hideo Sawada (ILCAA, TUFS)
  • Michinori Shimoji (Gunma Prefectural Women's University)
  • Fuyuki Ebata (University of Tokyo)
  • Kosei Otsuka (University of Tokyo)
  • Emiko Tsuji (University of Tokyo)
  • Yuto Niinaga (University of Tokyo)
  • Kazuhiro Imanishi (University of Tokyo)
  • Shengkai Zhang (TUFS)
  • Noboru Yoshioka (TUFS)

Please contact at:

LingDy Project Administrative Office

Poster and leaflet